3rd Biffes – 2009

The format of the festival was more viewer friendly with a highly evocative exhibition of stills and photographs being organized to showcase the growth and development of Kannada cinema in 75 years. Exclusive seminars on the creative and academic facets of cinema were organized, with a lot more foreign and Indian delegates attending the event. With many sections in the festival, each dedicated to a trend or director or technician or genre, the idea was to present to the cinefile the entire gamut of creative film making and bring him face to face with the history and the contemporary trends in international cinema.

The Festival Committee was headed by Girish Kasaravalli, one of the leading filmmakers in the world, to ensure highest level of excellence. A high profile committee of eminent advisers from various walks of life was the guiding force behind the festival.

An Organizing Committee headed by veteran journalist and former Chairman of the Karnataka Media Academy, V.N.Subba Rao, is in charge of putting the festival together. Dr. Vijaya, eminent cultural journalist and critic, is the associate chairperson of the Organizing Committee. N.Vidyashankar, a well known academician and Managing Trustee of Suchitra Cinema and Cultural Academy, is the Executive Director, while N.Shashidhara, a cineaste and Secretary of Suchitra Film Society, is the Festival Co-ordinator. H.N.Narahari Rao, Vice president of Federation of Film Societies of India, is the Artistic Director. Various committees have been formed to take charge of specific responsibilities.

Committee Members
  1. V N Subba Rao, Chairman
  2. Dr. Vijaya, Associate Chairperson
  3. Girish Kasaravalli, Festival Director
  4. H N Narahari Rao, Artistic Director
  5. N.Vidyashankar, Executive Director
  6. N.Shashidhara, Festival Co-ordinator
  7. Subhir Harisingh, IAS Justice A Sadashiva
  8. Dr. Jaimala
  9. I M Vittalamurthy, IAS
  10. D K Chowta
  11. K C N Chandrashekar
  12. KVR Tagore, IPS
  13. Dr Sabitha Rama Murthy
  14. Basant Kumar Patil
  15. Chiranjivi Singh, IAS (RTO)
  16. Manandi Suresh
  17. Raghavendra Rajkumar
  18. Dr A Krishna Murthy, IPS (RTO)
  19. K M Srinivasa Murthy
  20. T S Nagabharana
  21. G Venkataswamy
  22. Manu Baligar
  23. B Suresha
  24. S Raghavendra Rao
  25. N Manu Chakravarthy
  26. S Vishwanath
  27. S Anand
  28. B N Subramanya
  29. G S Bhaskar
  30. V H Suresh
  31. Prakash Belawadi
  32. M R Pattabhiram
  33. Jayarama Raje URS, IAS – Secretary, Dept. of Kannada & Culture & Information, Govt. of Karnataka
  34. S Vishukumar – Director, Dept. of Information, Govt. of Karnataka
 Festival Advisory Committee
  1. Sri S P Swain, IRS Sri M R MadhavaMurthy
  2. Sri Chhina, IRS Sri Yogananda
  3. Sri B S Nagaraj Dr Suma Sundheendr